top of page
Search

My Hero Wears a Purple Cape

Updated: Jan 28, 2021

Welcome to my first post! To introduce myself, my name is Ava Cherry and I am the sibling of a cancer survivor. When I was ten, my three-year-old sister, Lauren, was diagnosed with a rare brain cancer. She relapsed again at age five and along the way received an almost statistically impossible prognosis. At the time, Lauren was OBSESSED with the color purple. “Purple Power” became our family mantra. It represents hope and perseverance. It’s my hope that this series of blog posts about Lauren and other children battling cancer will inspire the “Purple Power” in you. Now here's our story...


The Unicorn

In July of 2013 to say my family’s life changed would be an understatement. Lauren was diagnosed with Pineoblastoma which is a rapidly growing cancerous brain tumor. She received a secondary lung tumor diagnosis making her the second known case in the entire world to have that specific combination. The doctors at VCU started referring to her as the "Purple Unicorn."


She was admitted to the hospital for weeks and sometimes months at a time. My parents were away most of the time and we couldn't have friends over anymore. I would spend every weekend at the hospital with Lauren to create a sense of normalcy, but nothing was normal.



Just Keep Dancing

Despite having the highest dose of chemo possible, Lauren had the brightest, most positive outlook on the world.

While she was in the hospital, she found a passion for art and music. When she felt well enough, she would sing and dance. The song Timber by Kesha and Pitbull was her favorite at the time. Whenever she came home, we would celebrate by having a dance party.


Ups and Downs..way downs

Lauren has had hundreds of procedures including very high-risk brain surgery and high-dosage chemotherapy. As a result, she lost all of her hair twice and gained many battle scars. Once she reached the end of her first treatment, we had to hope the cancer wouldn't come back. Lauren went back to pre-school, my parents were home, and we could have friends over again.


Just over a year later, Lauren relapsed except this time it had spread to her entire brain and spine. The odds did not look in her favor yet my dad would say, “As long as there is a chance, you fight like hell.”


The treatment options were limited so my parents and sister moved to receive special radiation at the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia. She had her entire brain and spine radiated. After three months of treatment, my parents and sister moved back home to receive follow-up treatment at the new Children’s Hospital of Richmond. She received chemo for an entire year and during that time my family was scared and isolated. She was extremely immune-compromised and frail.


Beating the odds

Despite a 5% chance of survival, Lauren has remained stable for four years and is in fourth grade at Bettie Weaver Elementary. She still enjoys painting and loves to dance. Despite being out of treatment, Lauren has numerous long term implications. Every day she still fights to be a normal kid yet she never fails to amaze me with her perseverance and grit. It doesn't seem fair that someone who has already been through so much still has to beat the odds every day.


My Purpose

Witnessing Lauren's battle over the last seven years is what led me to find my passion for childhood cancer and shapes my life goals. It also grounds me when my everyday life seems tough which is why I think stories like hers can resonate with others. Life is difficult for many people right now. With the fear of the global pandemic, the economic strain, and social distancing in effect for months now, everyone has a new normal and misses their old lives. There are some similarities in how cancer families feel and there is much to learn from the children and families. In my future blogs, I hope to capture how they survive, cope, and help each other.


Lauren is the first of many RVA Purple Perspective Heroes.

 

Ways To Help

1. Click the "Ways to Help" tab for different ways to become involved.

2. All feedback and suggestions are encouraged! Click here to tell us what you think.

3. Interested in donating? Click Here

I also hope you will consider my blog as an inspiration to help Connor's Heroes Foundation. They are a big part of helping cancer families cope with their new normal. They help with financial support and are also raising money in support of the pediatric cancer facilities at the new Children's Hospital of Richmond inpatient hospital.

Thank you for all of the love and support!!

1,085 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page